Our gig night returns with a new home for 2015 as Night Flowers headline The Shacklewell Arms on Friday 6th February.

Tickets can be bought in advance for £4 from WeGotTickets and they’ll be £6 on the door.

Night Flowers were our breakthrough band of last year releasing their spectacular self-titled debut EP on Dirty Bingo Records. Five friends originally from Humberside who are now based in East London, they play melodic indie rock/pop music influenced partly by 80s jangle and early 90s shoegaze. Pitchfork gush that “Night Flowers stand out from their modern peers merely because they’re the rare band that sounds like they want to.”

Fever Dream play dark, fuzzy, menacing music that blurs the line from noisy new wave to angular post-punk. Frantic shreds of guitar over that bass sound held together by tight as drumming. Easily one of the best live bands around at the moment, they’re currently recording their debut album.

A stand out band amongst London’s independent music scene, The Understudies released their debut LP Let Desire Guide Your Hand last year. A favourite of Pete Paphides, they’ve been favourably compared to the Tindersticks, Butcher Boy and Felt with Drowned in Sound saying “their sophisticated indiepop is a blessing.”

Consisting of members of Fuzzy Lights and The Puncture Repair Kit, Violet Woods take their cues from the depth of 60s British psych-pop and dusty West Coast jams. 12-string electric guitars, surf bass lines, ghostly vocals and rolling beats collide in lo-fi unison like a lost 7’’ playing on a dansette.

Our resident DJ Sam Cottis of the music site For The Rabbits will be playing records in-between the bands.


We’re back for our first club night of 2015 at the newly refurbished Moustache Bar on Saturday 31st January! To get in on our cheaplist simply join the Facebook event.

Our guest DJs are Duncan Barrett, Giles Barrett and Paul Rains from the band Tigercats! They release their second album Mysteries on Monday so we thought what better way to celebrate other than to have the guys DJ at the club again. They’ll be DJing from 11pm.

We’ll be playing our mix of indiepop, post-punk, new wave and sixties music. The last time we had the band guest DJing they played a fantastic mix including Orange Juice, Jonathan Richman, The Kinks, The Wave Pictures, Allo Darlin’, The Cure and The Smiths. You can listen to that playlist in full on our Spotify page.

We’ll be projecting the John Hughes cult classic Pretty in Pink and you can either join the event to get in on our £4 cheaplist or you can buy tickets in advance for £6 to guarantee getting in from WeGotTickets.


It’s a new year and we’ve got the best new music on our January podcast plus a handful of bands to look out for in 2015!

We kick off with Darren Hayman’s lead single from his upcoming Chants for Socialists album.

Belle and Sebastian’s ninth studio LP this out week and we have excellent “Nobody’s Empire”. Modest Mouse return with “Lampshades on Fire” and Herman Dune’s Black Yaya releases the second track from his forthcoming debut album.

Jens Lekman continues with his one song a week project and there’s a preview of ex-Standard Fare singer Emma Kupa’s mini LP.

The Wave Pictures, Ralegh Long and the majestic Laura Marling all have new tracks. Plus there’s Conor Oberst, Arcade Fire’s Will Butler, Trust Fund and an instrumental from Yo La Tengo.

Also on the podcast there’s Public Service Broadcasting, Django Django, of Montreal, The Mountain Goats, Interpol, Nervous Twitch and Love Sport.

You can subscribe to our Mixcloud page to keep up-to-date with all of our monthly podcasts.


A fantastic gig at The Lexington as Darren Hayman & The Long Parliament sounded brilliant covering Prince and throwing in a Hefner song too at the Fortuna POP! Winter Sprinter. Don’t just take our word for it, check out The Guardian’s review of the night. 

Mammoth Penguins and The Drink, stepping in for Mega Emotion, were both superb supports. You can see Mammoth Penguins next in London at our gig night in July.

Check out which records we played at the gig below.

Marine Girls – “In Love”
The Raincoats – “Adventures Close to Home”
Young Marble Giants – “Searching for Mr. Right”
Trust Fund – “We’ll Both Apologise”
Being There – “Generator”
Scritti Politti – “The “Sweetest Girl””
Simple Minds – “In Trance as Mission”
Freschard – “Boom Biddy Boom”
Gruff Rhys – “Set Fire to the Stars”
Violet Woods – “Here”
Sweet Baboo – “Motoring Home”
By the Sea – “I See a Crystal Sky”
Honeyblood – “Biro”

The Icypoles – “Gotta Stop”
Chorusgirl – “Oh, to Be a Defector”
Ex Hex – “Don’t Wanna Lose”
Tuff Love – “Flamingo”
Tigercats – “Junior Champion”
Rotifer – “Ernst Jandl at the Albert Hall”

Lambchop – “Up With People”
Billy Bragg & Wilco – “Walt Whitman’s Niece”
The Style Council – “Mick’s Blessings”
The Faces – “Stay With Me”
Red Shoe Diaries – “Fossil Fuels”
Alvvays – “Archie, Marry Me”

The Understudies – “Erika K”
The Cardigans – “Live and Learn”
Paul Simon – “Mother and Child Reunion”
Stereolab – “Cybele’s Reverie”